Sharpening a LV plane blade upgrade...

Calix

Hello everyone! After workign for a while with my new LV plane blade upgrade, I have to sharpen it for the first time, but I have some questions for more experienced woodworkers like you guys. I don't need to polish the back, right? I know the blade has a 30 degree bevel. I use the LV MKII honing guide for all my sharpening, but the blade-registration jig has two different color codes, red for high angles, and yellow for standard angles, both color codes have a 30 degree preset position. Wich option is right for this kind of blade and why? So far I have only used blades with a 25 dregree bevel. Hey, as always thanks for all the comments and all your help! Have a great weekend!

I dont know how true it is, but I practice this anyways. Your 2 intersecting edges(your cutting edge) should be polished to the same grit on each side. You don't need to polish the entire back of the iron, just the edge. I use the ruler trick for my irons, and it makes it very easy to polish the edge. 

I dont know how true it is, but I practice this anyways. Your 2 intersecting edges(your cutting edge) should be polished to the same grit on each side. You don't need to polish the entire back of the iron, just the edge. I use the ruler trick for my irons, and it makes it very easy to polish the edge. 

Hello Freddie!

I needed to know because this blades are suppose to be dead flat on the back, but you are right I have to hone the back to get rid of the burr. I just need to find the right ruler to try this trick, a really thin ruler.

Hey thanks for the advice!