Dog Crate Finish

N00b-in-training

My wife decided to get the kids a dog, which is great by me! Instead of buying an ugly ass black crate, I've decided to build a crate myself. Since the crate will end up in a currently unfurnished room for now I'm going to experiment with Tropical Walnut (which looks gorgeous and is on sale via Woodworkers Source). I'm going to test out several different finish combinations but expect it to be some variation of ARS, shellac, and poly (or lacquer). Still being a noob woodworker, I'm not super creative in my finishing. 

Question: outside of the dog eating the finish off the entire crate, will it be safe for the dog? Remember, if the dog eats the finish off the crate it means he's probably eating other furniture which will lead to a certain death by my wife.

Thanks!

-jason

My understanding is most any finish is non-toxic if it has fully cured.  Wax or shellac go on food, so are safe to eat either way.  I know walnut sawdust and shavings are hazardous for horses, so while I don't know about dogs, it might be best to err on the side of caution.  I would probably put a steel cage inside a pretty wooden frame.  My in-laws have a retail dog crate like this.

Also less risk this way that the dog would partially break a wooden crate and strangle or injure themselves while you're away.  In my experience a bored crated dog will chew things that they do not chew otherwise. 

What kind of dog? My dogs don't chew the wood in the house, but outside that is another story. Stop the chewing and stuff before it starts is my best advice. I would also do the retail cage and then build around. If the dog has an accident or gets sick moving a wood cage could be difficult and could damage the finish.