Byrd Tool Cutterhead Questions

Hello,

I bought a 8-inch jointer and 15 inch planer at liquidation (out of business cabinet shop) both made by Grizzly. To my surprise, when I got it home both have Bryd helical cutter heads installed! Being I am new to this I have a few questions... I do not know the state of the cutterheads or how they were previously used, so am I better off replacing them or removing them and having someone sharpen them? Also, the mechanism itself looks a bit dirty (see photo). Can it be cleaning without removing it or is this just how they look after some use.  

Thanks in advance for the input!80EB7E7C-BF41-49BD-ADFA-6390929D18F0_zps623DFD2F-C792-4A8A-83DF-09C5EDCFB6C2_zps

Some initial thoughts...

The head has seen some hard use (the conversion coating is worn-off in places). That level of use on consumer-grade kit is not a good sign... Sorry... The head could still be OK, but the guts of the jointer are a crap shoot...

The cutters look to be genuine late-generation Byrd (as opposed to after-market) and look to be in pretty good shape. The cutters have been replaced at least once... Byrd cutters aren’t ‘sharpened’, but replaced (about $3.50/per) after all four sides are spent... You can order genuine Byrd cutters from Amazon...

I’d start by taking a long hard look at the bearings, belts, etc...

If you end-up pulling the head, then I'd get an auto repair shop to put it in their parts washer for you...

More photos would help...

Thanks for the tip! I still have yet to get the 220v lines run so, when I do, I will start both machines up and see how they do. Is there anything I should be looking/listening for? Like I said, I have no history on either machine so, for all I know the cutter heads are brand new. They both cost be $200 so, to me it was worth the risk.

Thanks,

Jordan

That is a hell of a price for both machines.  Agree with trip (hhh)