Jointer Around $1000 Worth Having?

sheperd80

I try not to start a new thread every time i have a question but ive been debating this forever and need some WTO wisdom. Ive been eyeballing jointers for years, and never bought one for various reasons, mainly cost vs need. Currently i do all my pre-milling with handplanes and have become fairly adept at it i think. I dont mind it on smaller projects but when it comes to bigger stuff...well, you know.

Im a hobbyist primarily, but do sell small things occaisionally and hope to sell more substantial furniture in the future. I make tons of small projects for home and relatives but these are growing as well. A buffet cabinet, dining table, bed, etc are in my future. However i'll never be a full-time production shop. Based on my current and projected future needs I see it like this...

A benchtop 6" jointer will probably handle almost 50% of my needs.

A standing 6" with longer beds will probably cover 70%.

A standing 8" 220v will likely handle almost 90%.

A hanplane covers 100%, but i dont relish the idea of hand-jointing 8' rails of 8/4 hardwood.

So based on that outlook and a budget of around 1000, where would your money go? Or save for a more worthwhile unit?

Thanks for any input.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G890A using Tapatalk

Look for an older Rockwell/Delta or Powermatic something along that line in minimum 8 inch or even better 12 inch models. I picked up a older Rockwell/Delta a few years ago now from craigs list for 350.00 and haven't had any problems with it at all. They are out there you just have to keep an eye out............ That way you have some of that grand you wanted to pay for a new one in your pocket for a rainy day!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!   Gary