Aftermarket Rip Fence advice

rkrueger

I'm looking to replace the stock fence for my Grizzly G0771 with something that allows at least wing adjustments so that the fence can be properly adjusted to square from the table surface. I started looking around and there are quite a few options. I like the idea of the Very Super Cool Tools t-square and extruded aluminum fence, but wonder if $300 ish may be a bit overkill on a $700ish TS.  I probably wouldn't be doing any custom jigs utilizing the t-slots too soon as I'm still fairly new to woodworking, but it'd be nice as an option.

Still, does it makes sense to spend that much on this TS?  Is there another good fence someone might recommend that allows accurate adjustments to all angles to ensure proper square that maybe isn't quite so expensive?

Thoughts?

29 minutes ago, C Shaffer said:

What can't your fence do? The 0715 fence is fully adjustable and I am curious how they are different. 

You can adjust the front to back so that it is parallel to the blade, but there's no adjustment to change top to bottom tilt of the fence to account for it being perpendicular to the table surface.

The new Delta T3 is the best bang for the buck I know of, and would be an appropriately priced upgrade for your saw IMO.  It's a Biese Lite style steel t-square fence with a single piece steel front rail, and aluminum faces on a steel fence tube.  $183 at HD.  It should roughly comparable to what's on the G0715P and Jet Proshop.  It's superior to the fences on the Laguna Fusion and Baileigh hybrids, due have a welded t-square headed vs a bolted head....the Fusion fence also has a split aluminum front rail.

You should be able to sell the original fence for $50-$75 to offset some costs.  The T3 would be roughly $110-$125 out of pocket if you sold the stock fence.

http://www.homedepot.com/p/Delta-Power-Equipment-30-in-T-Square-Fence-and-Rail-System-36-T30T3/205803795