Anyone in the Tacoma/Federal Way Washington area?

Riley

Wow, its very cool to see so many people in this area!

So i have a big ask. I am very new to wood working. I have taken a beginner class at wood craft in Seattle and learned a bit from youtube and this site. However, I am getting very frustrated because i just dont know what I'm doing. Is anyone willing to show me the ropes as it were? Im willing to come to your shop. I'll reimburse you for your time in some way, money, beer, labor, whatever. 

Some things I'm trying to learn. how to measure and mark properly, how to true up power tools (i have a chop saw that i just can not get square), basic hand tool use. 

I have looked for more classes but the last class i didn't really learn much because all the details were done form me and most of the class was "follow this jig."

If anyone has any ideas on other places to look for classes I'm down for that too, or any other thoughts.

thanks,

-Riley 

49 minutes ago, Riley said:

Wow, its very cool to see so many people in this area!

So i have a big ask. I am very new to wood working. I have taken a beginner class at wood craft in Seattle and learned a bit from youtube and this site. However, I am getting very frustrated because i just dont know what I'm doing. Is anyone willing to show me the ropes as it were? Im willing to come to your shop. I'll reimburse you for your time in some way, money, beer, labor, whatever. 

Some things I'm trying to learn. how to measure and mark properly, how to true up power tools (i have a chop saw that i just can not get square), basic hand tool use. 

I have looked for more classes but the last class i didn't really learn much because all the details were done form me and most of the class was "follow this jig."

If anyone has any ideas on other places to look for classes I'm down for that too, or any other thoughts.

thanks,

-Riley