Build or Buy a Cyclone?

Chris H

I have recently upgraded my 2HP Harbor Freight unit, that had a Wynn Filter and Super Dust Deputy, with a Grizzly G0562.

The original plan was just to plop the new blower on the existing setup and expand/replace the filters (ignorant in hind sight).  However, I quickly found that this was much too much motor for the "Super Dust Deputy".  First time I fired it up, it sucked the pipes clean as well as emptied the barrel.  So the backup plan was to upgrade to the "Super Dust Deputy XL".  The motor overpowered that as well.  I could get the barrel to about 25% full before the chips just went right to the filter/bags.  

So my question for the forum is if anyone has any experience building a large cyclone, and if so, do you recommend the build or just buy?  I have limited metal experience, but always willing to learn, especially on shop projects.  If buy is the recommendation, any economical options out there?  I can only find options online to buy the blower with the cyclone.  

The first though that came to mind was to throttle back the blower with a speed control. But that would probably defeat whole purpose of increased suction.  Might as well use a shop vac at that point.

I personally would buy given the $149 units on eBay and how much time it will take one to build it.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Cyclone-Separator-for-Dust-Collector-with-Left-hand-Inlet-/280840027122

If the price were higher I'd look into a sheet of wacky wood, or maybe sheet metal, for the cone and some steel for a fame to put it all on a cart.

Thanks Collin, that is the guy. He has 3 sizes on his website, with left and right versions of each. I wonder about the blower being too strong for the Dust Deputy XL. I have read that any leaks below the cyclone will pull chips out of the drum. Could this be part of the problem for Chris?Most guys say their systems are under powered , and this is why I started with a 3HP Grizzly blower .