Lee Valley Vacuum Clamp System - For Sanding Wood

AceHoleInOne

Anyone have any thoughts on this or use something like this?

Lee Valley Vacuum Clamp System

It's frustrating sanding wood and having it move around on the bench. Using clamps sucks big time/ moving pads are so, so. I haven't tried the hockey pucks either. I currently use a roll of rubber backing for floor rugs, but they get dusty and lose their grip then have hassle of wash them out to get sticky again. 

-Ace-

I've been vacuum clamping for over 30 years. My rig is cobbled together & mostly homemade. I've been eyeing this sort of vacuum pods for several years as possibly easier than making my own jigs. I use an ancient Gast rotary vane pump that sips oil but other than lasting over 40 years & being fully manual it's still the same process. I added a foot pedal about 10 years ago and it has made a major difference. 

Sit the part on the vacuum pod, step on the foot pedal and it grabs in seconds. If the part has a rougher surface or slight twist/warp downward pressure usually gets it to grab. Sand , route, machine with no clamps in the way. Step on the pedal and there may be a second or two delay until the vacuum releases. I can clamp & route a 8" x 24" laminate shelf and release it in under a minute. 

• Like 1

4 hours ago, wdwerker said:

I've been vacuum clamping for over 30 years. My rig is cobbled together & mostly homemade. I've been eyeing this sort of vacuum pods for several years as possibly easier than making my own jigs. I use an ancient Gast rotary vane pump that sips oil but other than lasting over 40 years & being fully manual it's still the same process. I added a foot pedal about 10 years ago and it has made a major difference.