White oak curiosity question

Ron Swanson Jr.

I have been woodworking for about 15 years and I work part time in a Rockler store. I've got a question that no one has ever been able to answer to my satisfaction, but I'm guessing that the wise members of this forum can answer it.

Here goes.

I ONLY ever see white oak for sale that's 1/4 sawn. 

Does anyone know why this might be?

I live in Minnesota so there's not exactly a shortage of oak trees in this region. And at work at Rockler, and in the 3-4 local lumber yards I but from, I can't remember seeing plain sawn white oak, even once. It seems to ALWAYS be 1/4 sawn.

I guess it could be that it is out there and I just haven't noticed it (it's not like I'm actively trying to source some) but I started recognizing that I was seeing this lack of anything but QS about a year ago and in that time I've kept an eye out for plain sawn and just haven't ever seen it.

Does anyone know if there's something to this observation or is it bullspit and I just haven't noticed other cuts?

Just curious.

Thanks

23 minutes ago, applejackson said:

I have been woodworking for about 15 years and I work part time in a Rockler store. I've got a question that no one has ever been able to answer to my satisfaction, but I'm guessing that the wise members of this forum can answer it.

Here goes.

I ONLY ever see white oak for sale that's 1/4 sawn. 

Does anyone know why this might be?

I live in Minnesota so there's not exactly a shortage of oak trees in this region. And at work at Rockler, and in the 3-4 local lumber yards I but from, I can't remember seeing plain sawn white oak, even once. It seems to ALWAYS be 1/4 sawn.

I guess it could be that it is out there and I just haven't noticed it (it's not like I'm actively trying to source some) but I started recognizing that I was seeing this lack of anything but QS about a year ago and in that time I've kept an eye out for plain sawn and just haven't ever seen it.