Pigmented PreCat Lacquer in HVLP

MHRestorations

I've been doing some research on professional grade cabinet finishing strategies, and a lot has come up on using Pre-Catalyzed, Pigmented Lacquers in place of paint.  I know the advantages/disadvanteges etc, but I cannot find a place to purchase online.  Do I purchase the lacquer not yet tinted, and have it tinted to a custom color somewhere locally?  I've got limited knowledge on how to get it, so any and all help is appreciated!

I sent a message to someone that should be able to help you.  It may take a while for him to see my message but he has used the stuff you are looking for and lives in your neck of the woods. 

On 5/1/2019 at 5:12 PM, MHRestorations said:

I've been doing some research on professional grade cabinet finishing strategies, and a lot has come up on using Pre-Catalyzed, Pigmented Lacquers in place of paint.  I know the advantages/disadvanteges etc, but I cannot find a place to purchase online.  Do I purchase the lacquer not yet tinted, and have it tinted to a custom color somewhere locally?  I've got limited knowledge on how to get it, so any and all help is appreciated!

Are you wanting to use solvent or waterbourne products?

Also probably worth considering is that HVLP's heat the air as it goes through the turbines, so some fast curing finishes don't play well with HVLP spraying.  I have no experience with spraying any of this stuff with an HVLP, but it's worth doing some searching about people using it.

Alan - Ideally we would go waterborne because we are around this stuff all day every day.  But we also don't want to sacrifice on durability.  

Tom - Good point there.  I've not read anything where folks have recommended not going HVLP with this type of precat lacquer, but I'll do some more searching.