Which Router?

Bullsfan586

I am a craft woodworker, and I am looking to add to my tool chest by adding a router. My intention is to build some simple furniture, and whatever strikes my fancy. Right now, I am considering three different models. All three are kits that include a plunge base.

Dewalt DW618PKBR 2-1/4 HP (Refurbished for $179.99)

Bosch 1617EVSPK 2-1/4 HP (New for $189.99)

Makita RT0701CX7 1-1/4 HP (New for $139.99)

Which would be best? I am a teacher, and my budget is limited. That's why I've included the Makita.

I am not much of a router guy, but I have a couple of them.  If you are looking at the Bosch the MR23 is nicer than the 1617 set.  I have both and I found that the unsheilded switch on the 1617 filled with sawdust and had to be taken apart and cleaned out in a short time.  The switch on the MR23 is in the handle, which is nicer, plus it has the LED light on the workpiece.  Other than the mentioned switch problem the 1617 is a pretty fine machine though.

I have multiple routers in my shop as well and have always enjoyed the Bosch 1617.  I haven't had the issue that Jim mentioned or really heard of it for that matter.  However, if it happened to Jim, I'm sure there are others.

I saw your welcome post and you also asked what other tools should be on your list.  There's quite a few shop tours here and on YouTube.  You might take a look at some of those for some inspiration.  Regardless, the big 3 is pretty much where it all starts.  Planer, Jointer, and Table Saw.  After that Dust Collector, Bandsaw, and Drum Sander would be my list.  Then, Drill Press, and Miter Saw.  That's just my opinion but, the first 3 is usually agreed upon. 

I have the Bosch 1617 set and like it, but then I've not used many others, so no comparisons, and I don't use a router that much.  

When I do use it I do wish it had it's switch in the handle instead of the top of the case.  

I like the idea of both bases, but honestly use the plunge base more.