Talk me out of it!

Bullsfan586

So I'm about to add to my shop by adding a new sliding miter saw. The two within my budget are the following:

https://www.harborfreight.com/12-in-dual-bevel-sliding-compound-miter-saw-with-led-laser-guide-64686.html

https://smile.amazon.com/dp/B07R15XL8X/?coliid=I2MAD8WBIX40ZO&colid=1411GVDPLNF6T&psc=1&ref_=lv_ov_lig_dp_it

I am leaning towards the Tacklife over the Harbor Freight. Since I am only a hobby wood worker, I can't justify spending much more. I'm hoping someone will either talk me out of these saws or firm up my thoughts. My intention is to mount it into a jig with a stop block of my own devising (after taking what I like from videos I have watched). (I'll show it once it's done.)

So, tell me what you think. Keep in mind that I am a teacher who is retiring next year.

With respect, I'd chose neither.

For starters, about the only thing from Harbor Freight I'd spend money on that has a motor is the dust collector.  The other saw, at that price point, I just wouldn't have any faith in without getting to test drive it extensively before buying.

My suggestion would be saving a little more and buying a quality proven product that will have some long term customer support and a history that warrants your dollars.  That doesn't mean you have to mortgage the house and buy the Kapex but, there's a ton of middle ground in the miter saw arena!

I'll be very interested to see what others have to say. 

Although there are exceptions (e.g. the 2HP dust collector) Harbor Freight's reputation for quality is dismal.  Never heard of Tacklife and no reason I would have confidence in it.  

If I were going to take a chance on one of these two units I'd buy the Harbor Freight because it would easier to return/exchange since you can drive it back to the store.