Concrete Floor Sealers?

gee-dub

I decided early on not to go with an epoxy finish on the new shop floor.  It has a moisture barrier below but I am pondering the top surface.  There is generally so much equipment, supplies or project activity in a shop I have never really been troubled over the little bit of visible concrete surface.  I am not sure if sealing it with something like Seal-Krete would be helpful in preventing deep staining or just add another maintenance task to refresh the floor treatment.

I would love to hear any thoughts, experiences and tales of terror or nirvana you all might have to share.  I have had plenty of experience slipping on epoxy floors that have a light dusting of sawdust on them.  I have also fought to move things on epoxy floors that have added the grit to prevent slipping.  It is safe to say that if epoxy is the best choice I will go with bare :D.  I have well established habits of using rubber mats in "long standing" areas.  I shouldn't have taken today off . . . I think too much.  I am only concerned with stain or moisture penetration protection and whether the brain-trust thinks that is even an issue.

So I'm thinking about this and there is another variable here that I think needs to be considered. What is the surface finish of the concrete? Was the surface finish left with a slight texture or was it floated glass smooth? The concrete floor in my shop (my basement) was not finished glass smooth and it was to my knowledge sealed (clear sealer as water doesn't soak into the floor and change it's color). It is not slippery in the least nor has it degraded. I've worked in various commercial buildings that had the floors finished glass smooth, they applied no sealer or epoxy and they were still incredibly slippery. Some of these sealers may need to be applied as the concrete is curing to bind with it. I'm not sure .... it's complicated.