Resawing to make multiple pieces from 1 piece

oldman_pottering

I will start this by letting you guys know that I know nothing and this could be a bit long but I can't explain it very well

I have a few pieces of Australian hardwood that I want to be able to use in some smaller projects and the timber needs to be resized to do this. I guess the dimensions of the pieces are not important as the same process would apply to whatever dimension the timber is ( I could be completely wrong too, feel free to correct). The one piece I have in mind at the moment though is 200mm W 35mm H 500mm L and is "machined" (I'm a mechanic and this is how I think of it, maybe it's S4S ?) straight and square but I want to "slice" it up into thinner pieces to be able to use it.

I have a good bandsaw and also a thickness planer and I can cut the first "slices" from the outside edges of this block and then run them through the planer because the piece I cut off will already have 1 machined / surfaced side to face down in the thicknesser and I can then mill the other side which will have bandsaw marks in it and obviously won't be 100% square.

I would like to know how I go about milling the "slices" I take from the middle of my block as each "slice" will have 2 non machined surfaces leaving me without a good reference edge to lay flat down in the planer / thicknesser.

I hope you guys understand what I'm trying to say

Regards

Geoff

Edited by oldman_pottering
More info

• 2 months later...

As the above I did what was recommended and then left the timber in my shed untouched and now I have bananas

I realise wood moves but........do I need to keep repeating the process or is it a matter of using it as soon as possible after any milling process ?

I was hoping to make a simple keepsake box with basic joinery (probably rebates (rabbets) 

thanks 

Geoff

20221121_140922.jpg

20221121_141000.jpg

20221121_141021.jpg

• Like 1