The Shoulda-Got-It-Sooner Thread

outofstepper

Two luxury buys I wish I would have gotten sooner:

1. Veritas Scrub plane. I've always heard (read) not to spend the big bucks on

a scrub, that anything would do. In fact, I've been making due with a modified

jack plane. Got some chatter -- but on a scrub, who cared? I do a lot of my projects

with VERY rough lumber. Every see the cartoons where they turn a tree into a toothpick?

That's me.

The Veritas scrub feels so solid, no nonsense, I'm hogging some wood and no one is

stopping me. Maybe its new-toy psychology, but I don't regret one cent. Love the narrow

sole.

2. Duo Sharp diamond stone. I'm mostly a belt sander and water stones kinda guy, with an

oil stone or two for the axes.. but boy does this coarse stone cut fast! This was a tougher

buy as I've had some bad experiences with the longevity of "diamond" stones I've bought

in the past. Lets hope it holds up.

How about the rest of you? Anything you wish you would've bought sooner?

-Tony

For me it was more light. I added 3 - 4ft T8 fixtures near my bench. Not quite a neander purchase, but it's so much easier working on projects when you can easily see your line. My sawing definitely got better overnight - so much that I now want to buy a nice dovetail saw. (Maybe that will replace lighting on this list :) )

A good workbench for me. The first I build self destructed (didn't know what I was doing then) and the one I have now is just okay but I got it before I took any woodworking classes. Now I am plotting a way to get my third, better, really good workbench.

I will chime in with lighting. I never knew how little light I had, until I redid my whole lighting setup.

+1; I remember the first time I tinkered in the shop after adding a number of lights. I've since doubled those lights.

I had a decent marking knife, but now have a much nicer one mostly because the blade is 2 1/4" long. 1 1/2" longer than my previous knife.