Finishing a maple train table

Strong(er)

Hey guys,

I hope everyone is all set for the weekend. I recently purchased an unfinished maple train table for my son's birthday (he is turning 2 and loves Thomas). We wanted to purchase it unfinished so we could stain it to match our living room (dark wood everywhere). I am very new to the woodworking world, so I have been doing a lot of research on how to darken this wood without any problems.

I was planning on going with the process outlined by Marc in his coloring blotchy wood video. I was going to go with a shellac sealer first, then a general finishes gel stain, and I am trying to figure out what the best top coat would be. I would like to go with a water-based poly so the color is preserved, but I haven't been able to confirm this is an acceptable last step for my project.

Any advice/guidance would be greatly appreciated!

Your process is perfect and easy.

Yes, General Finishes water based poly can go right over their Gel Stain, just wait a couple of days between for best adhesion.

One trick I've found with the darker stains to prevent clumping in the corners and edges is to apply the gel with a rag or brush and wipe off well. You'll have a bunch left in the corners though. Use a stiffer, large paint brush to feather out the clumps. Dig into the corners and spread the clumps out. Keep this brush dry and clean while you're working. I whack it against a towel to keep it fresh.

Thanks for the quick responses...I just needed that little bit of confirmation to boost my confidence since this is the first time I have ever finished anything and it is a birthday gift that we hope to have in our home for quite some time. I will try to post some pictures once it is complete!

Maple can be tough to stain dark. Dyes might be a thing to consider. Make sure your top coat is scratch resistant. Trains and toys have lots of corners.