need help!

AMR1324

Okay...want to make this pretty short and sweet as it's late and my googleing attempts are as exhausted as I am. Have a kitchen table that had burn marks on it and had the idea of refinishing it the way I wanted it. Started off as a Pinterest idea..thought I had it covered..apparently I'm not as crafty as I thought. Any who I took a trip to HD..got myself 2 different color stains, wood conditioner and some polyurethane. All minwax brand. I have no knowledge as to what type of wood it it...seems to be MDF..with a thin layer of some wood. Sanded it with an OS...60 then 100 And finished with 150. Applied the conditioner and then coated with my first color choice of stain, let sit for a few minutes..wiped off. Color is uneven and blotchy in some area. I tried applying another coat after dry time..still the same. Figured if I Applied my second choice of color it would be okay as I'm going for a more rustic look anyhow. Didn't make a difference..and I hate it. As it looks like almost a straight line with 2 different color tones on each side. Ugh...I'm hoping to avoid spending more money. If anyone can give me some idea..id greatly appreciate it.

So first as was stated above,  I normally sand up to 220, 180 at a minimum before starting the torture. . I mean finishing. 

I'm a bit confused at what you're asking. 

As to the botching, those panels do look like a muddy mess.   How did you apply the stain? Wood does have variance in color so some of that may be normal,  you also may be close to sanding through the veneer and seeing the mdf start to show through. 

What is that line, about half way up the center panel? It looks like a clean cut from that angle.