Kitchen Cabinets Mission Style

Chestnut

Bought a house and the kitchen sucks. Go figure. House was built originally in the late 1920s, I think it took them a few years because some of the dates on lumber I've found says 1929 but the title states it was built in 1926. Since I've moved in I've been remodeling everything to the era of when the house was built with a slight modern twist. Obviously I'm not going to put back knob and tube wiring and fuse panels are great, when they aren't limited to 6 circuits. Like the title says this is my project Journal for the kitchen cabinets. This is my first project log on the site so here it goes.

I did a full 3d model of the kitchen in AutoCAD and chose rendering materials to come close to the colors i plan on using. The appliances in the pictures show up as gray blocks because i was too lazy to be more creative than that. I plan on making the doors and frames from quarter sawn red oak. With the cabinet carcass made from generic oak plywood. For a finish i plan on doing a medium brown mission style finish to accent the wood used.

12645002_10100916882956339_5174089642300

12669723_10100916882926399_6250134175515

12661813_10100916882896459_4149664067506

Feel free to post your opinions and comments.

• Like 1

QS White Oak would be more authentic and is nicer looking, in my opinion.   Unless you sre getting the red super cheap? why not use white?  Red will not have nearly as much ray fleck figure.  

Thanks for posting the journal. It's an ambitious project.

I like the detail on the underside of the upper cabinets.

What are you doing for counters?

Where is the sink going?  I assume it will go beside the dishwasher (across from the stove).

Are there any windows? It's always nice to have a window or two in a kitchen...

That one cabinet which goes all the way down to the counter top looks unusual to me.

• Like 1

Are the the drawers blending in because the fronts are slabs? Or are there no drawers?