Getting Started

Yodiebuzz

I'm just getting into woodworking after spending the last 15 years wishing I would since my high school shop classes.

I have decided I want to do this by hand tools only, my career has me on the road a lot and is extremely stressful. Working by hand in the shop is my time to just be and blow off steam.

I will mainly be building smaller projects, living room end tables probably being the largest project for the foreseeable future, jewelry cabinet for the wife to follow.

I currently have very little in the way of hand tools, but enough to putz around and see that this is something I want to dive in head first with.

As far as chisels, saws, measuring, marking, layout, sharpening, I'm set, either with what I have or comfortable enough to know what I need to get.

Then comes my bench planes... Currently I have a pre WWII era Stanley #4, while it does work kind of, it has shown me more what I don't want in a plane, namely to restore them, just not my thing, I work around nasty, rusty steel and iron for a living.

So, I have decided I want to purchase new, I started with a LV LA block plane that I now adore.

I have two trains of thought I would like some advice on...

I have done plenty of research on BU vs BD, I know the pros and cons as much as I can without actually buying and using each.

I am currently looking at possibly picking up the LV Bevel up smoother, jack and jointer.... Extra irons are no issue to get.

I do really like the Veritas Custom Line of planes and have been considering that route as well. I would be looking at the 4,5.5, and 7 there.

My dilemma falls in that with the other tools I need to pick up for myself ( Using a nice chunk of a well deserved bonus check) I will only be able to realistically get one plane at this time.

Maybe could swing two if I put off buying the Router plane, but I already have had and do have a need for it.

Do I go with the Jack size for only one? Jointer size more useful in the long run?