What to watch for when buying a used bandsaw

Ksmith

I found a used rikon 14  10-326 on Craigslist. I'm going to pick it up tomorrow anything I should be on the lookout for? Also I have an hour and a half drive with it should I strap it in vertical or horizontal. Maybe stupid questions but I have no experience with a full sized bandsaw

I'd take some means of support with you, and lay it on it's back with support on both sides.  And several ratchet straps. The only time it should move while in a vehicle when moving is when you're in an accident.  All other times you want it locked down tight and supported from every angle you can manage it.

• Thanks 1

22 minutes ago, RichardA said:

I'd take some means of support with you, and lay it on it's back with support on both sides.  And several ratchet straps. The only time it should move while in a vehicle when moving is when you're in an accident.  All other times you want it locked down tight and supported from every angle you can manage it.

I'll be sure to bring a few 2x4 pieces and a moving blanket. Thank you. I have  several ratchet straps as well

• Like 1

1 hour ago, Chip Sawdust said:

Let us know how it turns out! Exciting to get a “real” bandsaw in the shop :D 

Well it would have been, just texted the guy saying I was on my way.....he sold it this morning SMH. I had told him I would be there at 4 today. Back to the search I guess

• Sad 2

19 minutes ago, Ksmith said:

Well it would have been, just texted the guy saying I was on my way.....he sold it this morning SMH. I had told him I would be there at 4 today. Back to the search I guess

Welcome to Craigslist.

Set up alerts... 

https://www.howtogeek.com/363109/how-to-set-up-craigslist-alerts-for-email-or-sms/

The good stuff goes fast, you need to find it as soon as it's posted.   Then you need to jump on it fast.   And pick it up fast.

It helps to really know what you're looking for, have a good idea what you're willing to pay.

• Like 1