Surface raw lumber by hand

GingaNinja

Hello all. Long time lurker, first time poster here. 

First of all, I should caveat that I'm very new to traditional woodworking, so I'm constantly reading/watching various resources to improve my techniques with the tools I have. My biggest point of frustration at the moment is that no matter what technique I use (cross grain on the cup, or addressing twist), I can't seem to get a consistent surface of raw lumber to even make a registration face. I'll take a few passes with my #7, check for level, take a few more and when I think I'm close, I'll grab my #4 to make the finishing passes. But it never fails, that in the end, I have a discrepancy (sometimes HUGE) in the thickness of the board. Currently, I'm using a beautiful piece of spalted white oak to make a gentleman's valet, and I'm near the point of lighting a match and walking away. It's frustrating to think that I'm destroying this beautiful lumber much less compromising my brother's birthday present. Any help/advice would be greatly appreciated.  

I get questions all the time about why I chose to take the traditional route, and the answer is simple....I get a lot more education and experience out of the process than I would with power tools. I knew frustration would always be an issue no matter the route, but it seems to be more of an obstacle that anticipated as I can't even get a project started with the materials I need. 

1. Flatten the bottom (dead flat!)
  2. Use that reference with a marking gauge to scribe a line on the sides.
    1. I prefer a wheel style gauge for this. If you can't see the line darken with a mechanical pencil.
  3. Chamfer the edges to form a peak on the non flat side.
    1. I like a block plane for this.
  4. Grab your #5 and remove most of the waste.
  5. Then the #7, then smoother.

I left out the process on how to get the edges true as you stated thicknessing was your issue.