Clearing some land soon and want to store for future use

Olasko

We are clearing some trees soon. My wife and I want to use the wood from our land and not just burn as we go. My thought was to build a lean-to structure to store the logs; maybe mill some before storing but might be too expensive at this time. We do not have any projects in mind at this time; I am just starting to get into wood working and we both agree to keep it a hobby for us; something for me to get up from a desk and be more active.

Has anyone done something like this? Is there anything I am missing? Should I mill the logs before storing or can I store chunks of the trunk with no issue?

I am not an expert but if I remember correctly you should mill and sticker it to dry.  If you store it as logs, as the log drys it releases tension in the wood creating linear cracks through the log making any lumber milled from it in the future pretty useless.

• Like 1

You might be able to get some lumber from a log that has sat for more than a year or two but you can't count on it.  The wood shrinks as it dries and in log form it starts to tear itself apart.  Seal the ends right away.  If you want bowl blanks for turning then you can just cut the sections of log in half through the center.

If you seal the ends with Anchorseal or similar you should be able to store the logs for a while. This depends on climate and location but Matt Cremona did answer this question with a video.

If you have access to a mill I'd have them sawn sooner rather than later. Stacked and stickered outside you are looking at at least a 6-9 month drying period for 4/4 and double that for 8/4. I have air dried 8/4 lumber from tree to 15% MC in as little as 45 days but that is not advisable and could cause some nasty internal stress.

• Like 2

How big are the trees, and how high are the lowest limbs?  How much land?  How many logs?  Do you have equipment for handling the logs, and keeping them out of the dirt?