Beginner confused about dust collection

Behr

I'm really new to woodworking. I've made a few large desks, but they were built using hand tools. I just bought a SawStop PCS and I'm pretty excited to use it. The dust collection part has me confused though, so many options and products. What is the cheapest/most simple solution that I can get by with until I can save up more money for a better/permanent DC solution?

Thanks!

The harbor freight DC is inexpensive and works ok for getting started. The filter bag is crap so keep wearing a dust mask or respirator. It really just catches the big stuff and makes clean up easier.

https://www.harborfreight.com/2-hp-industrial-5-micron-dust-collector-97869.html

There are other units similar to this one that you just move the hose from machine to machine as you need it. Many take this unit and modify it once they figure out some goals and it can be a decent unit once modified. It will never be as good as a 3hp or 5 hp cyclone though they start in the thousands of dollars and operate best with a duct system.

A good option is to search craig's list or facebook for used units.

• Like 1

Thanks for the input. Unfortunately the HF DC is not showing online availability until late August. My local HF doesn't have any in stock. Robby - is Tickler the name brand? I did a google search but didn't find anything relevant.

Would the Rockler Dust Right Wall-Mount Dust Collector, 1250 CFM be a good unit to start with?

Edited by Behr
Added more information.

That makes sense. Final question: I can see that I can upgrade to a 5 micron bag for the Rockler system. Is that good enough to NOT have to wear a respirator? If not, is there a different filter I can add so that I won't have to wear one?

Thanks for the help so far, I know these are very basic questions.

FYI, ths WEN dust collector is comparable to the Harbor Freight unit, and can be purchased through Lowes, Home Depot, or online.