Need better countersink bits

Ronn W

I am getting tired of my old adjustable counterisnk straight bits.  Aside from the fact that they are old and dull, I would like to avoid having to separately drill a clearance hole so that the top piece of wood will draw up tight to the bottom piece.  Will a tapered counter-sink bit solve this problem??  One like this.......

https://www.rockler.com/6-pro-tapered-countersink-bit

It looks like it might work on longer screws but for a shorter (say 3/4" long screw) it looks like the largest diameter of the tapered bit will not even enter the wood and the hole might be too small of a diameter especially in hard wood.

I have no experience with tapered bits - any suggestions, life lessons, pros and cons would be appreciated.

I don't see using tapered bits unless using old style tapered wood screws.  That bit doesn't look like it's worth what it costs.  I think I'd buy the fancy Amana one before putting 30 bucks in that one.

I have a very old set of ones that look similar to that, but I haven't used them since woodscrews stopped being manufactured in the USA.  They were supposed to be the best made back then, and probably were, but they always clogged and had to be cleared between uses.

• Like 1

I have one of those tapered counter sink bits from rockler and it works ok. If you want the tapered bit to work like you say the depth needs to be set just right. Some times for short screws it doesn't work so hot and I have to drill a 2nd clearance hole.

One of the dowsides to that bit is that I find that I have to clear the dust from the counter sink between the depth stop collar. The amana bits cover this better but are more expensive. I think amana has a tapered drill as well but their part numbers are incredibly confusing and I've had to order 3 different bits before i got the one i wanted.

I think this is the bit that I use for #8 screws. https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0846PJ2ZS/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_search_asin_title?ie=UTF8&th=1