Drill Press reccomendations

Valleyslim

I've never used one before but will need one for upcoming projects where i will be batching out tons of boxes, i'll be making custom trays where i'll need to hog out most of the material before i use a bowl bit in the router. I'll also need it for drilling holes. My budget is 700$ and probably looking at least 12-14 inch capacity. don't have a preference between floor stand/bench. thanks

From personal experience doing a similar task, I would say that horsepower is critical. 10 to 12 inches capacity, and even more, is achievable with a benchtop machine, but horsepower will likely be larger in a floor standing unit.

Having said that, I hog out the waste with a forstner bit, because it is quieter and less of a mess. I don't think it actually saves time over doing the entire job with a router. A 1/2" carbide end mill can remove a lot of material.

On 1/15/2023 at 5:53 PM, wtnhighlander said:

From personal experience doing a similar task, I would say that horsepower is critical. 10 to 12 inches capacity, and even more, is achievable with a benchtop machine, but horsepower will likely be larger in a floor standing unit.

Having said that, I hog out the waste with a forstner bit, because it is quieter and less of a mess. I don't think it actually saves time over doing the entire job with a router. A 1/2" carbide end mill can remove a lot of material.

whats the minimum hp i should shoot for? also whats a good brand for carbide forstener bits? thanks

My advice is to look for a used Porter Cable 15" floor model on Facebook/Craigslist.  They unfortunately have been unavailable new at Lowes since Covid supply issues and I doubt they are ever coming back.