Ridgid R4512 Table Saw

jtooley75

Does anyone have or know someone that has the Ridgid R4512 table saw? I am a hobbyist looking to upgrade a cheaper craftsman TS. This one looked pretty good for it's price and as I said, I'm more of a weekend warrior right now, so investment in a professional TS is out of budget.

I just recently got this table saw and I would give it a 7 out of 10. I like the fact that it is cast iron but I would like if the extensions were also cast iron, they are made of aluminum. Also the fence is made of two sections, I guess this is a personal preference but it could potentially throw off a cut. this saw did pass the nickel test by the way. But overall, after buying a good quality blad this saw will do you good for years to come.

I recently came very close to buying this table saw to help supplement my all hand tool shop and ability to do speed up the process on certain projects. I decided against it because it just was not the table saw I wanted or needed. Don't get me wrong it's better than most contractor grade saws and should serve as a good saw for you but I think you will find that is has limitations and will eventually upgrade. I am happy continuing to progress as a hand tool wood worker and when the time comes I will get a table saw but I will not compromise, so if that means I have to wait 3 years I will wait. I guess you need to decide if you need a table saw now or not. I imagine Scott Spencer (AKA Knotscott) will reply, he is the guru when it comes to table saws and gave me some good advice when I asked. Good Luck!

James