Rigid Jointer

tomwassmer

Hello Everyone,

I have recently started doing some cabinet work for my brother. He lent me a bunch of his tools to use for this project. Among others, he gave me his jointer. It's the 6' rigid model that they sell at Home Depot. I've been having issues and like to see what you all think. When I run a board through the machine, it joints the first half of it fine and then stops cutting as I get further through the board. If I run it again, the same thing happens and continues to get worse and worse until the thinest part of the board is the end that I start with (I hope that makes sense) and the last part doesn't even come close to hitting the blades. I am suspicious that the infeed table is causing this problem but I don't see any way to adjust the table to be coplaner with the outfeed table. I am fairly new to jointers and am confused as to the cause and fix of this problem! Thanks!

I also own a Rigid 6" jointer, and I couldn't find anyway to adjust the tables. I asked Rigid, and they said that I should bring it to an approved Rigid service center.

Various people have recommended using shims to adjust the tables, but you'll need a lot of patience for that.

I recommend starting by watching this video, to get an idea of what tools you'll need and what the issues are.

I had the same problem with the same jointer, and it mostly went away the first time I replaced the knives. When I installed the new knives, I was (very) careful to get them aligned with the outfeed table, so I always assumed that the original problem was because the outfeed table was either too high or too low.

I never was completely sure about any of it, though. Apparently there's more to using a jointer than just shoving a board past the cutters, and I don't claim to have mastered it by any means. See the comments here by Chris Schwarz.

-- Russ