Best Value Hand Planes?

RJsumthn

Hey guys,

I'm 22 and pretty new to woodworking. I want to eventually get a power jointer and planer but I am looking at getting some bench planes to do the job until I can afford the power tools. I want to spend as little money as possible but for them to still function. I understand that I will have to spend a day to flatten the sole and sharpen the blade. I have an old Stanley 220 block plane that belonged to my grandfather that still needs some tuning up but does the job. Does anyone have any suggestions for some inexpensive bench planes? Thanks

I am just getting into the hand tools but I scored all 5 of these Stanley's for $20 at a yard sale. The #4 in the middle and #5 on the right were in pretty good shape and sharp enough to play around with. The little 9 1/4 on the left is razor sharp. Must have been someone's go to.

post-7681-0-11062300-1353130838_thumb.jp

Darrel beat me to it - yard sale. Read up on what to look for in a plane (cracked irons or body, missing parts, severe rust) so you know how much work it would be to get them usable. Look into replacement irons too for ones that are too far gone. Let us know how your search goes.

I've had a tough time finding old planes where I live (Oklahoma). Over time, I've found mine at antique stores (which are really more like junk stores or flea markets I think). I bought one - a block plane from Highland Woodworking.

All required the usual refurbishment but they work great now. I had to buy one replacement iron because of rust.

RJ one thing you can try is get a groz handplane or some similar and learn to tune it. also woodriver has some nice new tools for decent prices. the groz wont be out of box ready but the woodriver will. I have one groz smoother and mostly a bunch of antiques.