Good price for 1x12 S4S Cherry?

Kranzpj

I'm relatively new to the craft and am trying to expand my horizons beyond big box store pine S4S. I'm looking at a local hardwood dealer that has Maple, Cherry, and Poplar as S4S and I wanted to get some opinions on whether these prices are reasonable. I'll still need to rely on S4S until I add a jointer/planer to my repertoire. I know prices vary by region but the Cherry prices are:

1x8 = $7.05/ft (not board foot)
1x10 = $9.10/ft
1x12 = $11.45/ft

Does this seem in line with what everyone else is seeing out there? or am I better off rolling the dice on an Internet purchase?

Thanks!

post-6563-0-41483700-1360463237_thumb.jp

post-6563-0-32323200-1360463249_thumb.jp

That seems just a little on the steep side to me.  But then again I'm spoiled, I have a mill owned by Mennonites just up the road that I can get just about anything from for dirt cheap.  I'd either shop around your local area or go with an online source.  I've used www.walllumber.com  a couple times and have been satisfied with their service, quality and shipping.  I also hear good things about www.bellforestproducts.com/ although I have no experience with them.

I'm in PA and if I recall correctly I can get s4s cherry 4/4 up to about 9"wide for $4.95 a board foot. In the rough I think it's $3.85. I can also get air dried cherry for about $3.00 a board ft in the rough from a local sawyer. If I read your post correctly your place is selling for $11.45 a board ft?

ditto i'm here in Illinois been a while since i priced it out but the guy down the road air dries and it rough straight from the mill i can get it 3.00-5.00 depending on size and quality. you can also get green lumber and dry it yourself to save dollars.  might be pricer there because of demand or supply but still that is kinda pricey.