Feather Board - Table Saw

Illini40

Could you help me understand the scenarios / reasons / how I would use one Kreg feather board on my table saw?

In purchasing my first table saw (R4512) from CL, the gentleman tossed in one Kreg feather board attachment. Since I am a newbie, I'm open to learning to use it properly to add safety and accuracy in my cuts going forward.

Not familiar with that particular featherboad design, but typically a single board is placed just in front of the blade to hold the stock tight against the fence for rip cuts.

Sometimes a second featherboard can be attached to the fence to hold the stock tight against the table as well.

Never position a featherboard so that it pushes the kerf closed!

• Like 2

When ripping a board (cutting it so the cut is done in the same direction as the grain as opposed to perpendicular to the grain) it is important that the board is pressed tight against the fence so the cut is parallel to the other side of the board that is against the fence. It is very easy to accidentally have the board move away from the fence a couple of millimeters (and millimeters count!). A featherboard keeps the wood pressed against the fence. I use one in almost every cut I make. The exception being when one will not fit, or when I have such a big piece I think I can control the pressure against the fence easily using my own hands. 

If you do not have a push stick yet then get one or make one right away. They are super important to your safety.

Here is a video that covers the basics. 

http://www.powertoolinstitute.com/pti_pages/safetyvideo_3_TableSawSafety_eng.asp

Norm

http://www.iptv.org/series.cfm/47/new_yankee_workshop/ep:1908/episodes