Turning practice: laminated alder bowl

sjk

I'm a turning novice and haven't turned anything in over a decade.  I thought I'd try my hand at turning again and decided to attempt a bowl out of alder. 

I liked the idea Tommy Mac used on his "laminated bowl" (glue up the turning blank out of layers with the grain direction gradually rotating). (it's the project in Rough Cut season 3, episode 9 https://player.vimeo.com/video/98958543)

I'm aiming to make a taller, rounder bowl so that I get some experience hollowing.  I cut some 8" squares and then made the faces smooth.

IMG_0185.thumb.jpg.1b4fb39d57754aa5da0ae

I was surprised to find that figuring - no idea how that will translate into the finished bowl.

Then I glued up pairs of boards, rotating the top board by 20-ish degrees.

IMG_0186.thumb.jpg.1689604cc5ce47e0762c3

Once those were dry, I glued the whole thing together.  There's a chance I might have used enough glue.

IMG_0189.thumb.jpg.ed14ab2ef1341e8609235

Going to let that cure up and then it's on to turning.

• Like 2

Out of the clamps and to the bandsaw to make it roundish.

IMG_0190.thumb.jpg.5bbd6e50c1a057d52197d

IMG_0191.thumb.jpg.43f0661240635bd83c592

Screwed on a faceplate and mounted it on my little lathe.

IMG_0193.thumb.jpg.abc5f0243ca9b62586292

Sharpened my never-before-used 1/2" bowl gouge.  I did a so-so job at sharpening it.  I matched the angle and got the sides looking right, but I got the tip of it a little pointier than it started and I failed to keep it symmetrical.

IMG_0192.thumb.jpg.bce97acc3f3bf6a7c12ca

Then I turned the outside of the bowl.

I ran into two problems: lots of endgrain tearout and I kept getting catches as I tried to round the bottom of the bowl.