Easel and Chalkboard

Cliff

I've been meaning to try to build one of these for my wife's shop for about a year. Then Jay Bates did one and had plans. Looked easy enough so I bought his plans and decided to take a stab at it. I was going to use poplar but then realized I had plenty of air dried ash that was probably not going to be useful for anything else due to it being improperly dried. At $1/bf, I didn't care. 

I don't have a domino, so I had to choose a different joinery method. I honestly don't understand how to do mortise and tenon when your piece is angled so I opted for dowels. I've never used them before for joinery. But I bought a doweling jig the first month I started woodworking, so I figured why not?

Ash board - 10 or 11 foot long, 14 inches wide, 5/4 thickness.

1.jpg

After tons of milling, I had the easel pieces sized up. And I do mean tons of milling. The wood was badly warped. Unfortunately I misread the cut list and rough cut all the strips to 2" when the easel pieces were supposed to be 2 1/2" final width. But since it's ash, it should hold just fine. 

2.jpg

I cut the 5 degree angle on the top and bottom of the legs, and on the stretcher pieces, then did a test fitting. It was pretty perfect, though in the pic the board is not level on the table saw because the wing dips down on the back. I was pretty proud of this matching up the way it should. This stayed perfect and life was wonderful from here on out. (no.) And btw I'm hoping that cleaning the blade will take care of some of the burning you see on the pieces. It does it on every wood pretty much, not just ash, though it does it much worse on ash and purpleheart.

3.jpg

Since my pieces were the same width I figured the doweling jig should be easy sauce. So I marked a line and drilled my holes.

4.jpg

5.jpg