Top coat over shellac

trz

So, I've sprayed two coats of amber shellac on my bookcases. Why shellac? Because I've never worked with it before and wanted to try spraying some! Amber, because two coats gave me just the color I wanted.

Now that that's done should I top coat it and if so with what?

Bookcase = something durable

New to spraying = something easy to shoot that’ll lay-down well

From previous posts, not a lot of oomph at the tip = something that atomizes fairly easily

I’d shoot pre-cat solvent lacquer

==>And I would wipe on some poly.

Excellent choice... I would have gone that way, but figured he wanted to keep spraying... Of course, the other advantage of a catalyzed lacquer – you can finish the project in an afternoon and have books on the case the next day... Wipe-on poly/varnish/etc -- it's another week or so... The upside of poly -- spraying bookcases can be a bit of a challange...

Correct you are, I would like to keep spraying, I won't be putting any books on them for awhile, so drying time is not an issue.

I'll have to look into the water based poly and the lawuer options. Mot sure which would be better for a noob sprayer to start with!

Again , thanks

Based on your other spray threads... WB isn't in the cards until you up your air supply... Solvent-based, shellac, et al are about your only options... Shooting poly is absolutly out of the question...

==>drying time is not an issue.

Not so much dry time, but cure time... It normally takes three weeks to a month for wipe-on varnish/poly/oil blends to cure... No cure = no books.

I have a couple bookcases and a few other pieces that I only finished with shellac.  They are holding up fine (through plenty of use and 2 moves).  

Is there a reason you are looking for a different topcoat?  Shellac has been used for a long time with nothing (save some wax) on top. If you want a different sheen you can sand it a bit with 600 or something, or just apply some wax, and buff to the sheen you want.