First G&G project

prov163

My old high school class (1975) asked me to make a box to memorialize a piece of school lore.  I thought it would be a great chance to try a new technique and start making some much needed changes in my approach.  It's sooo nice to be working in solid wood again - I've been stuck doing plywood projects lately.  Anyway, got some nice QSWO on sale at my hardwood dealer, then decided to use G&G joinery and decorative touches.  This is my first project journal but I know I'll learn a lot as you guys critique and answer my questions.  Here's where I am so far

One board project?

IMG_2239.thumb.JPG.4601d09980dfdc15eefecf24554e85af.JPG

Milled and cut to rough sizes

IMG_2240.thumb.JPG.dd4e346b3338c079bdbb641d9737d6f4.JPG

My first attempt at a G&G joint on scrap.  I looked at some different articles but liked Marc's video best so I used his table saw approach with some modifications for my tool setup. Thanks for making this so much easier Marc!!!  While I know this is a pretty easy joint, getting it tight is key so using the table saw to cut the joint but cleaning it up with my hand tools really got the joint fit right - pressed in by hand and holds position.  

IMG_2245.thumb.JPG.9f57fdab2e8066e69f09eb43bc00204f.JPG

So, a couple of questions:

1.  Do you have a way of accurately marking the end of the pins for shaping the chamfers consistently?  Marc uses a rasp and I've been thinking of buying an Ariou from HH, so road trip this weekend :)

2.  How do you decide what size and number of decorative buttons/inserts per pin?  Can they be made out of walnut instead of ebony?  

3.  I don't have a hollow chisel mortiser so what's the best way to create the square holes? The Lee Valley square punches or something else?  

IMG_2246.JPG

Looks like a neat project.

47 minutes ago, prov163 said:

3.  I don't have a hollow chisel mortiser so what's the best way to create the square holes? The Lee Valley square punches or something else?