Show us your CNC projects

Mick S

46 minutes ago, Immortan D said:

Sorry if my question sounds stupid and/or naive, I have no experience with CNC.

Is it possible to make a perfect cube in a cube with CNC without having to rotate the cube more than once per side? Do you think making such item as an entry level exercise?

Possible, theoretically. Unless I'm missing something, you'd only need to flip the piece once, since half of the machining could be done from the top, assuming the tool is long enough to reach the midpoint of one side. Theoretically because it would be really hard to keep the interior piece from breaking loose as you approach the separation point. It's done on 5 axis machines at trade shows to show off the capabilities of the machines and software.

• Thanks 1

I love that stool, Mick!  I have been needing one in the shop and that's sort of the seat I want to make, haven't decided on the legs yet.  The leg to seat joint is really nice.  How much of that was by hand and how much CNC?  I wondered if that was Spalted Maple and Purpleheart but Richard may be closer. 

The rocking horse is cool, too.  Most of our grandkids are older so I don't need to make one but it's a cool project.

David

• Like 1

Thanks, David. I used the router to for all the contours in the seat and most of the joinery*. All of the leg carving was done on the router, as well as the tapering and mortising for the stretchers. 

The woods are ambrosia maple and Peruvian walnut. Stretchers are steel with walnut sandwiched and epoxied.

*I did the leg roundovers by hand to match the radius of the seat joint. 

IMG_3853.jpg.c31c3f059b649a062b471acc234ddfbc.jpgIMG_3855.thumb.jpg.c9dd445eea971642baa7c52e8d2ef805.jpg

• Like 1

2 hours ago, Immortan D said:

It's the ultimate pantograph!