Spar Varnish on Port Orford Cedar

windguy

Howdy - newbie here.  Has anyone used Spar Varnish on Port Orford Cedar?  Also looking for stain recommendations.  The project is vertical deck louvers for wind control.  I will also be bending some laminates to add some soft geometry - probably as extensions of deck rails - that's phase II.  For now it's the louvers and some basic benches.  The environment is pretty harsh - coastal Oregon - lots of rain, fog/marine layer, intense sun, and hellacious winter storm winds.  I'll be using STK Port Orford for structures and clear for bending.

I think  that Werker will weigh in on Spar Varnish.  As a fellow newbie I'll mention that Fine Woodworking did a two year study of various outdoor treatments, concluding that their best entry was a "Clear Penetrating Epoxy Sealer" (CPES, they used a particular brand) followed by a particular brand of spar varnish.  If you PM me, I'll look up the article.

I hope you will keep us informed on your project.

PS.  One of the factors involved is UV.  I think that the spar varnish is necessary for UV protection.  The CPES helps keep water and rot out of the wood.

[edit, and PPS:  I used  this treatment on an outdoor, but under a roof, table:  after less than a year it so far looks new.]

[re-edit, and PPPs:  if you don't care about how it looks, a pigmented treatment - paint/solid stain -  will help UV protection immensely.]

Welcome to the forum.  I have limited experience but I think that spar varnish is way to go.  Just be sure that the cedar has had a chance to dry ( weather a littlel) before finishing.  I waited 4 months after installing a cedar fence before Painting it and the recommendatioin of the installer.  Be prepared to varnish again every couple of years.