Finishing Southern Yellow pine

CalledtoCreate88

Hey everyone, this is my first post here. I'm new to this forum and even newer to woodworking.

I just picked up a new Delta table saw, got it all set up this past weekend, and for my first "project" I'm planning on making a couple kitchen shelves.

Since I'm just starting out, I plan on using dimensional SYP from my local box store because I don't want to be out a bunch of money if (when) I make mistakes. From what I've read, it can be a little tricky to get a good dye/stain on pine because of it's "grain" structure that accepts the dye/stain at different rates. So what are your recommendations for a good finish for a kitchen shelf?

I've heard good things about Old Master's Wiping stains, and I'm going for their "Pecan" color. Do you think this would work well with a Poly clear?

Capture4.jpg

InteriorColors-Hero01.jpg

First of all, if you want good finishing results and to avoid much frustration, abandon the idea that wood needs a stain. Even with spray equipment & lots of skill, the results will be okay at best when finishing construction lumber like pine, spruce, fir & the like. 

A good finish that is easy to apply & very durable is a wiping varnish like General Finishes Arm-R-Seal. It will give the wood a warmer tone that is quite pleasing. 

• Like 1

I agree with drzaius. My advice if you want to save money and get good results is to go an isle or two over at your big box and get some of their 1x pine shelving lumber. Or, spend a bit more and get some poplar. In either case, painting will give best results. However, if you must stain, apply a coat of Seal Coat shellac, sand it smooth, and then use an oil based gel stain. Good luck.

2 hours ago, CalledtoCreate88 said:

Since I'm just starting out, I plan on using dimensional SYP from my local box store because I don't want to be out a bunch of money if (when) I make mistakes. 

Welcome!