Sticky Island Bar Top Problems

Stacie Tucci Parente

We used a big old slab of bowling alley to top our island and I like it just fine except that we poly coated it and repeat exposure to salt (I'm a chef) and heavy use has left the finish kind of sticky and impossible to really clean.

We're going to strip it, but I want to coat it in something that can handle high heat and excessive amounts of salt (and butter, and flour and the like).

We've considered a pour over epoxy, but I'm hearing it can get permanently sticky if exposed to heat.  Once I dig into specific products, it gets verrry confusing.  Any thoughts?  

This sounds like a case where it is better to use an easily renewable finish, rather than attempting to make it damage-proof. I would consider a finish designed for butcher blocks. It won't offer much protection for scratches, dings, and scorching, but is easy to repair when damage does occur.

Pour-over epoxy is pretty durable, but salt is abrasive enough to scratch it, and may react chemically like the poly seems to have. Heat is problematic with almost any finish, but the butcher-block finishes essentially push the heat limit to the wood itself. Hot pans can certainly scorch the wood, but probably at higher temps that the poly or epoxy can take. Maple can endure temps over 220 F for extended periods before color change is noticed.  There are high-temperature epoxies that withstand more, but most are not clear.

• Like 1

1 hour ago, Chestnut said:

The only counter top materials that i know of that can handle direct high heat is granite and stainless. 

The man-made quartz stuff, like Silestone, too.  We have that in our (relatively) new home, and I love it.

I see cooking shows on TV where they will take a pan straight off the hot stove and set it on what appears to be a wooden cutting board or counter top - but I have no idea what kind of wood surface you can do that to without scorching it.

1 hour ago, G Ragatz said: