Best epoxy to use to fill small knots

Gunther15

I am new to filling knots in table tops. Generally I just use clear wood and work around the knots. However I did just get some air dried shingle oak that is riddled with small knots (smaller than I diameter of a pencil) it is some beautiful wood and I am going to make a table top from it. I have heard good things of the West System Epoxy but I was wondering if this was the best to use and if so what all do I need to order. I have been looking on Amazon and it looks like I can get the 105 resin but I didn't know which hardener I needed to go along with it. I was also curious if anyone knew of and system that might be cheaper. $100 just seems like a lot to drop on epoxy. And insight that could be given would be appreciated. Thanks

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I use West..  105 resin and 205/206 hardener.  The 206 is considered fast and the 205 is considered slow.  Frankly, neither are fast ;)  Be sure to get the pump kit as well.

Steve is correct, tape the bottom.  Also, have a torch or heat gun at hand to take care of the bubbles.

I use West 105/206.

If you want a cheaper option for West epoxy you might try a repair kit. They are not as good a value as the pumps but if you don't foresee using a lot $30 is easier to justify.

Since filling knots is non-structural I don't see why a hardware store two part epoxy won't work.

Woodcraft sells some powder tints for resin. I think the brand is stickfast. I just use the black one and it works great. A tiny amount smaller then a pencil erraser is enough for a knot bigger around then a silver dollar.  Regular 2 part epoxy from home depot is all I used. Works extremely well with a heat gun. I won't go back to knot filling without a heat gun anymore.  Not only can you fill even deep knots in one go with a heat gun but it also makes the epoxy looser so it fills more cracks and the black tint even blacker. 

• Like 1