Trouble with sanding after staining

Kathy

This is my first time refinishing a piece of furniture. I am refinishing a kitchen table, I believe it is maple. I didn't notice until after a second coat of stain that one section looked scratched up. I lightly sanded with 220 grit and added 1 more coat of stain to just that section. That one section now looks dull where the rest of the table looks shiny. Any ideas? Do I sand the rest of the table and add stain like that other section? Just add my top cost and hope the glossiness all matches? Help! I'm using Minwax oil based stain. Thanks!

If this were me, I would re-sand the top and get everything back to even and restain, then do the same thing to the remaining items. Meaning, if you have already stained those pieces, sand and re-stain. If you didn't stain the other pieces yet. Stain those, let dry and sand back then stain again. Every piece must have the same process done or it wont be consistent.  

-Ace-

After staining it's hard to sand. The stain clogs the sandpaper rapidly. I use a card scraper in that situation. It takes some learning to keep one sharp but it's the best tool for the job. It's either that or plan on wasting a bunch of sandpaper. 

To be clear, should of said "scuff" sand. The object of the game is to use the sandpaper to blend and remove "some" of the stain already down. I think in this case, using a card scrapper would be to aggressive. I'm not implying to completely remove the stain and getting back down to white wood. All we're trying to do is equalize the background for the next coat of stain.

-Ace-

2 hours ago, Kathy said:

I've tried to upload the picture on a computer and iphone and keep getting the same error message (200)

Your tag says only two posts. Pics will only upload after a few more posts that are not identical. The forum is attempting to stay spam free. 

• Like 1