Recipe Book Holder

Hey guys, I'm relatively new to this world. I've been building odds and ends out of pallets simply because being a single income family with 5 kids under 7 doesn't afford me the funds necessary. Anyway, I was asked by a coworker if I could build her a recipe book holder. I made it out of 1x12 poplar, but I ran into some issues. I couldn't make a straight angled cut to save my life. One cut was 40 degrees and the other two were 25. The table saw just kept wanting to turn it and in some cases it started burning the wood. Any ideas? I'm asking here because I believe you all will be able to see the flaws like I can. Constructive criticism is welcomed. Do I just need a better blade? More patience? Like I said I'm still pretty new and teaching myself as I go. b7274bbe58e0980d64fa5a8acb7211f7.jpg9e0d625432e7866c3fd47a53b2b1a65a.jpg31688c6344ff75dc49bf8fa2d2d2dc03.jpg8525a64efa2a47812c5910b997921f77.jpg0e83667a99f168602afd9a30f0ad0737.jpg3e5058d21f6e0f32b7059083aaa22857.jpg643e4b6859561c379eb0ccf83d56b30d.jpg56851aa2986bc76c627bffaed824eeb0.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Cutting bevels will really show any misalignment in your tablesaw. If you are making these cuts referenced against the saw fence, I bet the fence is a bit out of alignment to the blade. As Eric said, some info about your saw and cutting process will get you better answers on exactly how to correct the problem.

Aside from possible alignment issues, did you use a featherboard to hold the workpiece tightly to the fence?

• Like 1

Check for blade alignment, not only at 90 but also at 45. Getting it aligned at 45 can be more difficult. As for technique, the board must be tight to the fence and, just as importantly, absolutely tight to the table. The board must also be perfectly flat.

• Like 1