protecting equipment/tools uninsulated shop in winter

Dana Polojärvi

Hello everyone,

I'm just getting started with woodworking, and I have a great uninsulated barn I was thinking of using, but I'm afraid my tools and equipment will get wrecked in the Maine winters.

Is there anything I need to do to make sure everything's OK when I get back into the shop in the Spring?

Eventually I'll build in new walls with insulation, but I need to get the house finished first!

Thanks!

Welcome to the forum.  With the exception of batteries I'm wondering if this is a real problem. Batteries should all be stored in a climate controlled environment.  But say a drill press, not sure I see the risk of storing it cold.  Now operating it in sub-zero is a concern.  What sort of tools do you have?

One other thing to think about is adhesives and finishes. Some of those will be ruined by freezing temperatures. I load mine in a box and bring them inside the house during the winter, then take one or two out to the garage as needed during the colder months.

This suggestion is messy but effective. If the iron/steel tools are going to be left unattended for a long time grease is the best way to prevent rust. There are other options but I've read enough reviews that really hammer hole that under a long enough time frame they will fail.

When i moved and stored i greased the tops and then wrapped in that packing stretch plastic. Removed the grease after with denatured alcohol.

39 minutes ago, Chestnut said:

Woulkdn't it be a pain to get out of nooks and crannies like T slots on a table saw?

I think it's a great idea though. Bit more costly and time consuming.

I have never used it, but they claim it forms a film that is peelable from most surfaces. We don't have much humidity around here, so I've never had a need for rust proofing my tools

27 minutes ago, drzaius said: