What's your dream build

harryangel69

What's your dream build.

I don't care why you don't do it. We all have are limitations.

Unlimited budget, unlimited time, and unlimited skill set at your disposal. What would you build just because you could?

I ask the question because I met a man a couple of days ago who won a small lottery. An older woodworker with a terminal illness. I not going to get into details, but he had asked himself that question. After a little small talk (which I am not very good at) he invited me into his house. Every piece of wood in the house was purpleheart. I was in shock, speechless. He said he had always had a love affair with the wood and when given a bankroll he just went for it. I mean crown, doors, bartop, just everything. He would not allow pictures and asked me not to blabbing it all over town. He said he had people absolutely livid that he had "wasted" so much wood, and did not show it off to many people anymore. I could ramble for hours, but it got me wondering What would I build?

Every thing that I think about building is to practice or work on a skill set. With the exception of my shop (which is not completed) I don't know that I have ever built any thing out of selfish want.

So What would I build? I don't think I know. Maybe the skill building is it.

To be honest, my dream build is "Brian’s Bookcase with Hidden Drawer". I've been wanting to build something like this for years, but was waiting for the skills, and to decide exactly where in my house it was going to go. When I saw this on The Wood Whisperer, site it was like seeing something from my imagination come to life.

What's your dream build.

I don't care why you don't do it. We all have are limitations.

Unlimited budget, unlimited time, and unlimited skill set at your disposal. What would you build just because you could?