Thickness Planer or Combo Planer/Jointer

BikerMike

I’m seeing a lot more need for adding a thickness planer to my power tool set (Dewalt 735 is a top candidate,   possibly with a helical cutter head upgrade).  I’m pressed for shop floor space so I’ve been noodling around the idea of selling my Delta 6” jointer and going for a combo Planer/jointer.  This would save floor space,  give me the thickness planer function and give me a wider jointer (but at a 2x cost).   Looking for thoughts from anyone who has either option.

10” units are often bashed as bad at both operations and good at none. 12” units, especially from Hammer/Felder, get excellent reviews and several members here have them A3-31 and A3-41, I believe. I’m sure they’ll chime in. 

What is your budget?

I have no personal experience to share, but almost 100% of the opinions I read say don't bother with anything less than the A3-31 or -41 units @JohnG suggested. Most of the smaller units just don't have long enough tables to joint properly, and leaving them in planer mode eats up space. Personally, I would go for a 15" planer and use sleds for jointing, rather than a sub-par combo machine. But if your cash and space budgets allow, the Hammer / Felder machines get really good reviews.

I’ve had my A3-31 for about 14 years and I’ve been real happy with it. Having said that there are a lot of moving parts on these machines which imho makes it harder to manufacture a quality machine. Based on my budget if I couldn’t afford a Hammer or similar quality machine I would go with that route with no hesitation. If not I would go with the Dewalt planer until I could. In my experience those machines can be sold relatively easy on CL to recoup some of the costs. I started with a dewalt 735 planet and a 6” jet jointer they worked great. 

• Like 1