Getting a workbench flat and square

I've been watching Paul Sellers on his build a workbench series of videos from a couple years ago. I'm trying to follow the details of what he does but sometimes the camera is too far away for me to catch details or he says something in passing that I need more explanation on. Mainly my question is how much/square/accurate does my table top need to be and how square do my legs need to be. He seems to be doing all his work with hand planes because he's got 50 years experience and he's a wood samurai. My results don't generally turn out that good. Since I'm still learning it's hard to tell where I'm making mistakes or just need more practice. I'd like to wind up with a workbench that's flat enough for me to use when I glue pieces together evenly or when I'm checking something like chair legs for evenness (can't trust my garage floor). Are there any other techniques I need to know about for flattening and squaring when I try to follow along with these vidoes?

Here's one of the episodes:

Been a while since I watched those, so hints may be duplicated....

First, a perfectly flat and square workbence is a nice convenience, not a necessity. "Pretty close" is good enough for most things, and if you need 'dead flat' for something specific, lay a moving blanket on the bench, and a piece of mdf over that.

To achieve flatness with hand planes just takes sharpness and patience. Observe when the blade seems to catch the wood and dig in. When it does, plane from the opposite direction. Is your bench top made of planks, or an on-edge lamination? The grain direction issue is fussier in a lamination, unless you aligned the grain all one way before gluing it.

You need a straight edge, and maybe a set of winding sticks to sight along. These show your the highs, lows, and twist.