Small Miter Box

Chet

I've been using something like this for many years.  It does take a very narrow kerf saw.  Even at today's price it's not bad if you can go pick it up; even better with a coupon.  I mounted mine to a block of wood so I could clamp it in the vise. I also double-stick tape a scrap of wood to the bottom to saw into.  I use it for dowels, plugs, small trim work, really anything that is delicate.

I couldn't resist so I went looking.  Zona is the brand I have.

• Like 1

On 10/21/2021 at 1:27 PM, gee-dub said:

That is the one I have been looking at the most.

On 10/21/2021 at 1:06 PM, RichardA said:

Come on Chet.  It's three pieces of hardwood scrap and three saw cuts Easy peasy.

Sometimes I get to thinking about the next "fun" project and get lazy with things like this.  Then the next time I am in the middle of a project and in need of it the process starts all over.  

• Like 2

On 10/21/2021 at 3:27 PM, gee-dub said:

I've been using something like this for many years.  It does take a very narrow kerf saw.  Even at today's price it's not bad if you can go pick it up; even better with a coupon.  I mounted mine to a block of wood so I could clamp it in the vise. I also double-stick tape a scrap of wood to the bottom to saw into.  I use it for dowels, plugs, small trim work, really anything that is delicate.

I only use a narrow kerf saw when cutting small pieces which made my old one a pita. I just ordered this one and they promise I will have it tomorrow! Love me some Amazon! How they do it, I’ll never know? “Oh heck, Coop is spending more $$ so let’s make him happy”:D

Thanks @gee-dub for the link and for the hint of the scrap wood on the bottom.