Another Urn

gee-dub

1 hour ago, gee-dub said:

Locate one post piece from an old monitor stand (they came with multiple post pieces that stacked for different heights). Bore a matching hole of an appropriate depth.
57668444_Urn-Mike(4).jpg.ae2a24394e1be3b30d82eb5a972f9b32.jpg
Attach shop vac.

Brilliant.  I've been saving those same monitor stand parts for probably 15 years.  And now my hoarding behavior has been vindicated! 

(Of course now I have to run out and buy an I-box; as soon as I find out what that is :)).

On 11/5/2021 at 1:10 PM, wtnhighlander said:

Sorry for the loss of you brother-in-law, Glenn.  Very nice urn design, though. Did I miss a step where you curved the side walls? I'm very interested in how you managed that so smoothly.

I did not show that for the mock up.  I will be sure to include this on the "keeper" that is now in the clamps.

• Like 1

On 11/5/2021 at 12:41 PM, Mark J said:

Brilliant.  I've been saving those same monitor stand parts for probably 15 years.  And now my hoarding behavior has been vindicated! 

(Of course now I have to run out and buy an I-box; as soon as I find out what that is :)).

The i-box is handy and when I got one they were not much over $100.  At $200 I think they may be pushing it ;-)  I still do box joints with a key in a sac fence on the sled which is just as nice; especially for larger fingers.  I'm not trying to talk you out of it.  Just callin' 'em like I sees 'em.

Sorry for you and your family's Loss Glenn.  Its unfortunate that this is the way the new shop gets christened but at least you got to take things for a test drive.

On 11/5/2021 at 1:45 PM, gee-dub said:

Did I miss a step where you curved the side walls? I'm very interested in how you managed that so smoothly.

I am looking forward to this also.