Gluing a panel and preventing it from cupping

Meatwad

I didn't want to resurrect an old thread:

But I am having the same issue. Lots of different ideas in there but something kept coming up about stickering the panel after you glue it up. Is this really necessary? After 24 hours shouldn't the glue have hardened all the way, excluding extreme weather shifts?

I think all was good with my panel but I left it flat on my table in the garage and then this week we had 2 days of tornadic activity here in Arkansas. Pretty sure the humidity got to it.

I am no expert but two things I have done when gluing panels. 
1. It sound like it came out of the clamps flat and then cupped on you and did not cup when clamping. I try to use cauls when clamping to help keep them flat. 
2. if possible did you alternate the grain direction of the boards so one is up the next is down? 
3. Do you know the moisture content of your boards when you started. I have left mine in the garage and they typically do not move but the humidity does not have drastic changes? 
4. Did you give the boards some time to rest during milling? Sometimes my boards will move after the initial milling and I usually try to leave an 1/8 or so between initial milling and then taking down to final thickness.  

Other might have some better suggestions but that’s what I have

I had 2 leftover boards of walnut I cut these pieces from. They had both been in my garage for a year. 2 milling sessions a day apart, maybe 2. I measured very carefully before gluing and I used cauls to do the glue up and with alternating bar clamps. 24 hours later I pulled it out of the clamps and tested it for flatness. I didn't detect any cupping at all then. I don't recall if I alternated growth rings. I really suspect the monster storms that came through in the last 3 days were the culprit. But I only checked it for flatness when it first came out of the clamps and then about 4 days later. So it had 3 days of laying flat on my table.