Stain for Cedar in direct sun

Newbiehere

On 8/9/2023 at 3:50 PM, BillyJack said:

Call Sherwin &Williams..

Appreciate that. I came here for actual help and I’m not well versed in wood as you can see. I’m a nurse taking care of lively people like yourself for a living and doing this as gift for my son. Im a single mother and can’t afford to hire someone. Again, if anyone has any actual insight I’d appreciate it. 

There is no film forming finish that will last any length of time outdoors in the weather. Spar varnish is about the toughest, but you still would need to reapply yearly to keep it tip top. I'd just use an oil based deck stain and redo it yearly because it is so easy to apply.

The Wood Whisperer did a comparison of different finishes for outdoor furniture. It is worth a look.

@BillyJack is correct, a paint supplier can provide good answers to your question. Just understand that any finish used in full sun will require periodic renewal. Like @drzaius, I lean toward an oil-based deck stain or sealer for being easier to renew than a varnish. 

To keep the wood color natural, I suggest this transparent oil stain from SW, or an equivalent.

That being said, aromatic cedar (actually a juniper), which I assume is what you are using, survives remarkably well with no finish at all, if you don't mind the weathered gray color.

• Like 1

On 8/9/2023 at 6:35 PM, drzaius said:

There is no film forming finish that will last any length of time outdoors in the weather. Spar varnish is about the toughest, but you still would need to reapply yearly to keep it tip top. I'd just use an oil based deck stain and redo it yearly because it is so easy to apply.

The Wood Whisperer did a comparison of different finishes for outdoor furniture. It is worth a look.