Best Planer for a beginner on a budget

COMO

So I am a beginner and am in the market for a planer. I feel like I have looked at every planer in town and have read a bunch of reviews and think I am now more confused than before. I looked at a craftsman today that said it was a three blade but all I can find online is 2 blade. So far I have looked at the Rigid. Looked good but expensive, Delta t305 just seemed flimsy. i have also looked at Ryobi and Dewalt. Now I just need recommendations. Iwould like to keep the cost down but dont want to regret my decision.

we have the dewalt dw735 even though it is little more expensive then the 12.5 inch one i have had no problems finding blades. plus i find it realy easy to take apart as all the screws are eather thumb screwed on or the built on allen wrench wide open area so it is easy to oil it and replace parts. onlything that i think would be difficult would be replaceing the chain for raising and lowering the gap but that has yet to happen. also i like the fact that it has a cover surounding the cutting edge so that the kids in the classroom have to activly stick there hand way inside a small opening to hurt themselves or have any small pieces fly out at them. only realy bad thing about it the outport is right above the outfeed so the hose can get in the way if you dont move it up and away from the piece's

Are you thinking of a lunchbox type ("portable"), or a larger stationary one? What specifically confuses you?

Some of the benchtop/"lunchbox" type have served many people very well. The Delta and Dewalt models often get good reviews. You can often find decent deals on these either new, or used on Craigslist (often from people upgrading to larger machines). I think some of the magazines have had reviews of these in the past and Dewalt is consistently one of the top tools.

I don't know a lot about larger stationary units, but some quick googling should help you find many posts, comments, and reviews.